Bate stealers

 

 

 

IMG_0900Birds and fishing do not mix! #batestealers

The egret on the left was quite persistent in trying to steal our bate from the bate bucket. We had to chase him away several times. The birds here are not afraid of humans and get quite close to you on these public peers.

The pelicans are troublesome because as I have said before they try to steal your bate on your hook. I image part of the reason is people must feed them their left over bate because often you see them waiting close by  when you are baiting your hook. I even saw one with a hook and lead hanging out of his beak.  I often had to real in very quickly to keep them from getting mine. Needless to say I will not be fishing from public peers anymore. It would really upset me if I hooked one of these beauties.

Leave a Reply

